Purple cap in IPL

Who will win the Purple Cap for the IPL 2023 Season?

The IPL 2023  season has begun and has brought with it tremendous entertainment. The season has already delivered some classic matches, top performances with the bat, ball, and in the field. We are only in the starting phase of IPL 2023, so there will be many such performances that will take your breath away.

Bowlers play a key role in the success of any team. If they are able to pick wickets and contain the opposition, it makes the job of batsmen all that easy. In the IPL 2023 so far, there have been amazing spells like Mark Wood’s 5-wicket haul against Delhi.

What is the Purple cap in the IPL?

In IPL the purple cap is given to a bowler with the most wickets in a single season. Last year Yuzvendra Chahal won the purple cap, thanks to the amazing season where he picked 27 wickets for Rajasthan Royals.

Who will win the IPL Purple Cap in 2023?

There are many contenders to win the IPL purple cap in 2023. Some of the strong contenders to win the purple cap this year are as follows:

Yuzvendra Chahal

Yuzvendra Chahal has made a strong start to the IPL 2023 season by picking up 8 wickets in just 3 matches. He has already won the purple cap last year, where he picked 27 wickets for Rajasthan. In 2022, Chahal bowled with an amazing average of under 20 and a run-rate of below 8.

Chahal is a clever bowler and reads the minds of the batsmen well. He has plenty of variations to outfox any batsman. Let us see what Yuzi has in store for us in the remaining matches to come.

See also  Live Betting Strategies | All You Ever Need To Ace Betting

Mark Wood

Mark Wood is breathing fire with every ball that he bowls. He dismantled the Delhi side as if they were a school team. The accuracy and pace of Wood’s bowling has been rewarded and he has 8 wickets in the IPL 2023 so far to show for the same.

Wood is currently playing for the Lucknow Super Giants. If he can manage to stay fit, he will be a big asset for LSG and might well end up as the purple cap winner of IPL 2023.

Also Read: How to Choose Cricket Betting Sites for IPL

Ravi Bishnoi

Another LSG bowler who is in prime form is the young leggie, Ravi Bishnoi. He has picked up 6 wickets in the 3 matches that he has played so far. Bishnoi has picked up over 10 wickets in all the IPL seasons that he has played in.

R Bishnoi will look to go a step ahead and pick most wickets in a single IPL season. He just needs to be consistent and also he should keep batsmen on their toes with his variation. Bishnoi’s go-to ball is googly, but he can also surprise a batsman with his classic leg-spin.

Trent Boult

Trent Boult has been exceptional with the ball, especially with the new ball. He gets the ball to move and troubles batsmen with the late swing. He is currently playing for the Rajasthan Royals, a team that looks a strong contender to lift the IPL trophy this year.

In the 3 matches played so far, Boult has picked up 5 wickets. If the ball swings, Samson should consider giving Boult 3 overs in the powerplay. Trent Boult can bowl well during end overs too, but he is at his absolute best with the new ball.

See also  Live Betting Strategies | All You Ever Need To Ace Betting

Rashid Khan

The deceptive leggie from Afghanistan, Rashid Khan has a bag full of tricks. He is quick through the air, so stepping down against him is quite difficult. Rashid understands who is batting against him, and then plans accordingly.

Rashid is currently playing for the defending champions Gujarat Titans. In the 2 matches that he has played so far, he has picked up 5 wickets with an impressive economy of just over 7. Rashid is doubly dangerous if batsmen need to go hard against him. Let us see how captain Hardik Pandya uses him.

Also Read: Top 5 IPL Betting Sites That Will Impress You in 2023 

Other Contenders who could Win the Purple Cap in IPL 2023

There are other bowlers too who have shown some great form during the ongoing IPL season. The list is as follows:

  • Varun Chakravarthy
  • Nathan Ellis
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Arshdeep Singh
  • Alzarri Joseph

Rules for Purple Cap in IPL 2023

  • Purple cap is awarded to the bowler with the highest wickets in a single IPL season. 
  • A bowler who is the current highest wicket-taker will wear the purple cap on the field. 
  • If at the end of the season, two bowlers have the same number of wickets, then the bowler with superior economy rate is awarded the purple cap.

List of all IPL purple cap winners

Sohail Tanveer was the first bowler to win the purple cap in the IPL, while Yuzvendra Chahal won it in the previous season of the IPL. Who all won the purple cap in the seasons between? Get the answers by going through the table below.

See also  Live Betting Strategies | All You Ever Need To Ace Betting
2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals1122
2009R.P. SinghDeccan Chargers1623
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers1621
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians1628
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Capitals1625
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings1832
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings1623
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings1626
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad1723
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad1426
2018Andrew TyePunjab Kings1424
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings1726
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals1730
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore1532
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals1727


This year also promises to be a great year for IPL and cricket enthusiasts. Everyone is supporting their favourite team and will be hoping that the purple cap winner will be a player from their favourite team.


  1. What is a purple cap?

Purple cap is awarded to a bowler who takes the maximum wickets in a single IPL season.

  1. Which bowler has won the purple cap more than once?

There are two bowlers who have won the purple cap twice, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo.

  1. From which team would we get a purple cap winner this year?

Teams like LSG and GT have some quality bowlers in their ranks.

  1. Any new bowler who could surprise us by winning the purple cap?

KKR leg spinner Suyash Sharma could come up as a surprise this season.

Leave a comment