Aus vs NZ World Cup 2021 Final

Australia vs New Zealand T20 World Cup 2021 – Winner Prediction

New Zealand qualified for the finals of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 by defeating England in their previous semi-final match of the seventh edition of the T20 World Cup. They qualified to face the Aussies in the final match to take place on Sunday to determine who takes home the T20 World Cup 2021 title. 

The last time these two teams clashed was in the ICC T20 World Cup final in 2015. Australia registered an effortless win over New Zealand and the Kiwis now have a chance to compensate for that loss. Both teams weren’t the favorites in this T20 World Cup edition; rather they were able to defeat the favorites of the season. They came to the finals with only one lost match and positive net run rates: Australia +1.216 and New Zealand +1.162 according to the Aus vs NZ T20 scorecard. 

Match Details

Final Date: New Zealand vs Australia T20 2021 final match will be played on Sunday, at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Match time: The match between New Zealand vs Australia is scheduled to start at 7.70pm IST.

New Zealand vs Australia T20 live telecast and streaming information: The final match will be aired on the Star Sports channel and live-streamed on Disney+Hotstar.

Match Preview

New Zealand has won 23 of the 30 matches they’ve been to in the World Cups since 2015 and has the highest winning percentage of 76.67. This makes the team the best match-winners in the last four World cups in the ODI and T20 formats. The second and third best are the Aussies and India, teams. The two have won 20 matches of the 27 matches they’ve been to in the last four World cups. They both have a winning percentage of 74.07. Play thrilling Australia vs New Zealand T20 2021 match on top cricket betting sites such as Uwin, Cricsbet, 22 Bet, Betway, and 10Cric to win.

Despite having the best records, they have lost seven times in the last four World Cup knockout stages which shows they have a problem of failing at crucial games. They have been defeated at the 2015 and 2019 cricket world cup finals and in 2016 at a T20 world cup semi-final. They have been consistent in the men’s tournament in recent years and they defeated India earlier this year to emerge as the ICC World Test Champions.

New Zealand vs England

In the semi-final in Abu Dhabi, New Zealand made an impressive five-wicket victory against England and that’s how they made it to the finals. They were unable to make it twice in two semi-finals in 2007 and 2016 where they lost to Pakistan and England respectively.

New Zealand is the first to get past unbeaten England in thirty-eight years in a World Cup semi-final. It is a difficult task to beat England, who lost last to India in the World Cup 1983 semis. Since then, they have won five times consecutively in semifinals; that is, in 1987, 1992, and 2019 Cricket World Cup and in 2010 and 2016 T20 World Cup. New Zealand also faced them in 2016 and England beat them by 7 wickets with 17 balls left. 

Australia vs Pakistan

Australia defeated Pakistan by five wickets after Marcus Stoinis and Matthew Wade combined efforts to score an unbeaten 50 run that guided the team to a win and secure a place at the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 finals where they would take on New Zealand. Mohammad Rizwan opened the innings with a 67 off 52 balls and hit three boundaries and four sizes and Fakhar Zaman scored 55 off 32 balls as he recorded three fours and four sixes. Rizwan and Azam shared 71 runs for the opening before he hit 72 runs with Zaman. That way they posted a challenging 176 for 4 in 20 overs. In the pursuit of a target of 177 runs, Aaron Finch and his team came on top by constructing perfect innings and pacing around the required run rate. Micthell Strac picked two wickets for 38 runs, David Warner made 49 runs, and the Wade and Stoinins combo overhauled the target with an over left. 

New Zealand vs Australia T20I Head to Head Records

The Aussies and the Kiwis have played a total of 14 matches in the Twenty20 International cricket where Australia dominated the record with nine wins. New Zealand has won five of the matches the two teams have locked horns. 

Their first ever T20 International cricket was way back in 1878 and their last match was in 2005, February 17. In 2005 Australia took a trip to the Eden Pack in Auckland for a one-off T20I match. They were slow to start their innings but that did not stop them from winning over New Zealand with a score of 214/5 in 20 overs. Ricky Ponting, who was the Australian captain then, scored an unbeaten 98 off 55 deliveries and was supported by 13-ball 32 from Andrew Symonds. Other players who contributed to the win were Michael Hussey with a score of 31 runs off 15 balls and Michael Kasprowicz finished off the middle order of New Zealand by taking four wickets. New Zealand was left at a loss with 170 points. In the lone T20 World Cup between New Zealand vs Australia, New Zealand emerged victorious. 

AUS vs NZ T20 Head to Head Stats:

AustraliaNew Zealand
Played in Asia01
Played in neutral venues01
Played in ICC T20 World Cup01
Average score167159
Win Percentage64.28%35.71%
Most runsAaron Finch – 251Martin Guptill – 435
Most wicketsAshton Agar – 13Ish Sodhi – 16
Most catchesGlenn Maxwell – 10Martin Guptill – 10

Australia vs New Zealand T20 Head to Head

The highest team score of 245/5 was scored by Australia on February 16, 2018, and the lowest team score was recorded by New Zealand in Marsh 5, 2021 with just 106 runs scored. 

The highest individual score was a 56-ball 116 and was registered by Brendon McCullum to contribute to New Zealand’s first-ever win against the Aussies in the second T20I, February 2010. 

The best bowling figure in an Australia vs New Zealand T20I match was finished to a 6/30 by Ashton Agar in March 2021. 

Probable Playing XIs

Australia is unlikely to make any changes to their playing XI whereas New Zealand has to make some changes after the middle-order batsmen David Conway was declared injured. He sustained a right-hand injury during their match against England. Tim Seifert or Mark Chapman may replace the batter.

Australia: Aaron Finch (Captain), Steve Smith, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc, and Adam Zampa.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (Captain), Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Philips, Michell Santner, Trent Boult. Tim Seifert/Mark Chapman (to replace the injured Devon Conway), James Neesham, Adam Milne, Tim Southee, and Ish Sodhi.


The current T20 World Cup favorites will lock horns in a heated final match to determine who walks away with the title. The likely to win from the head-to-head records are the Aussies, they have a way of winning over New Zealand. Simultaneously, New Zealand has beaten them in recent matches. So, who will win this NZ vs AUS T20  match? Join the ICC T20 World Cup league on the top leading sports betting sites in India and create your team, score points and win real cash prizes.

Leave a comment